Tuesday, July 5, 2011

4 Qualities of Mind that Alleviate Suffering

From Toni Bernhard on Psychology Today;

The four sublime emotions (also called the four heavenly abodes) are qualities of mind that we cultivate in order to alleviate our suffering and the suffering of others. In the language of the Buddha (Pali), they are called the brahma viharas, which means "the dwelling place of awakened beings."

The good news for us unawakened beings is that it's easy to begin cultivating the brahma viharas. Indeed, they are an integral part of other religious, spiritual, and humanistic traditions. I present them here with a distinctly Buddhist "flavor."....

Continue reading on the Turning Straw to Gold blog.

Related - Bup Mee's Dharma Talk - The Brahmaviharas May 22, 2011.

No comments:

Post a Comment